New Jersey Aggravated Assault Lawyer Adam M. Lustberg Explains the Penalties for A New Jersey Aggravated Assault Charge

New Jersey aggravated assault lawyer Adam M. Lustberg releases a new article (https://www.lustberglaw.com/aggravated-assault-attorney/) that explains the penalties for aggravated assault in the state of New Jersey. The lawyer mentions that there are many things to consider before an act is called aggravated assault. These considerations include whether the defendant used a weapon during the assault, their relationship to the victim, the intent, and the injuries sustained by the victim.

According to the New Jersey aggravated assault lawyer, β€œ In some cases, an injury need not have occurred for the criminal act to still be considered aggravated assault. Typically, any crime in New Jersey that includes attempted murder, robbery, rape, or assault with a deadly or dangerous weapon is considered aggravated assault – and this is a felony in NJ that carries severe penalties.”

New Jersey aggravated assault lawyer

The lawyer explains that aggravated assault is classified as a felony in New Jersey. In order for someone to be convicted for aggravated assault, the prosecuting team must be able to prove that the defendant acted with intent and with reckless disregard. To prove that the defendant acted knowingly and recklessly, the prosecutor must be able to prove the defendant used a deadly weapon such as a gun or a knife.

In the article, attorney Lustberg says that aggravated assault charges are often accompanied by criminal weapons charges which could result in more severe punishments. Also, a lot of weapons offenses in New Jersey carry mandatory minimum terms of incarceration.

Additionally, the criminal defense lawyer mentions that when someone is charged with aggravated assault, their penalties will be determined by the degree of their offense. The degree of the offense varies on a couple of factors including the location of the assault, the injury caused by the assault, the age of the victim, prior criminal history of the defendant, and whether the defendant has other charges aside from the assault.

Furthermore, attorney Adam M. Lustberg says that a 4th-degree offense carries up to 18 months of jail time and $10,000 in fines. For a 3rd degree offense, it’s a mandatory 3-5 years of incarceration and $15,000 in fines. Lastly, for a 2nd-degree offense, the punishment is 5-10 years of incarceration, $150,000 in fines, and no early release until 85% of the sentence is served.

About Lustberg Law Offices, LLC

Lustberg Law Offices, LLC works with criminal cases in New Jersey or New York. It has earned a reputation for delivering results for clients. Attorney Adam M. Lustberg is the founding lawyer of the firm and he has represented clients throughout every stage in the criminal justice process, including detention hearings, arraignments, plea negotiations, and trials. Attorney Adam M. Lustberg understands the difficulties that can arise when someone is facing serious criminal charges. He will answer questions and work with the client to help them understand what's going on and the next steps in their case. Call them today to schedule an appointment.

###

For more information about Lustberg Law Offices, LLC, contact the company here:

Lustberg Law Offices, LLC
Adam Lustberg
+1 201 880 5311
alustberg@lustberglaw.com
One University Plaza Dr Suite 210, Hackensack, NJ 07601, United States

FacebookTwitterGoogleDiggRedditLinkedIn